Minecraft Mobs: Everything You Need To Know! (2023)

Minecraft Mobs Guide
Minecraft Mobs Guide

Minecraft is a sandbox game where players will find numerous different types of mobs in every corner. These mobs are AI-driven entities that resemble living creatures; players can also consider them Non-playable characters (NPC).

Mobs can also be attacked using every weapon in-game, and several can be tamed. All beginners in Minecraft must not be familiar with the different categories of mobs and their types, so we have curated a complete list of all the different categories of mobs and the types of mobs that fall under each category.

First, we will explain the different categories of mobs in Minecraft, and then we will be listing every single mob that falls under each category so without wasting any moment, let’s get started.

Categories of Minecraft Mobs

1. Passive Mobs

Passive Mobs
Minecraft Passive Mobs

These mobs are simple creatures that won’t ever harm you no matter what you do to them. Even if you attack them, they’ll mostly run away.

Most of the mobs that fall under this category can be tamed under certain conditions, and if they’re met, they can surely be tamed.

You can feed these mobs food such as carrots, wheat, or something they like to tame them and keep them as your pets or food production sources.

2. Hostile Mobs

Hostile Mobs
Hostile Mobs

You might want to be a bit careful in front of these mobs, as they can seriously damage you. Hostile mobs will never be your friends and will attack you on sight; once they’ve spotted you they’ll come for you.

Once a hostile mob has spotted you, killing it or running away will be your best option, as there’s no way you can befriend these creatures.

3. Neutral Mobs

Neutral Mobs
Neutral Mobs

It is hard to speculate what these mobs are going to do to you as they’re a mix of the previous two categories. Usually, the mobs in this category are passive, but you need to be careful, as they can quickly turn hostile under certain conditions.

If you attack the natural mobs, stand close to their children, or loom them in the eye, then they’ll quickly turn hostile, so make sure to be careful around them and maintain a safe distance so even if they turn hostile, you can show off your skills and eliminate them or run away.

Well, these are all the categories that mobs in Minecraft are divided into, and you might be confused about which mobs fall under which specific category, so do not worry, as we will list every single mob in-game and also mention which category they fall into so you guys won’t have any issues judging which mob falls under which specific category.

Passive Mobs

  • Allay (Tammable)
  • Axolotl
  • Bat
  • Cat (Tammable)
  • Chicken
  • Cod
  • Cow
  • Donkey (Tammable)
  • Fox
  • Frog
  • Glow Squid
  • Horse (Tammable)
  • Mooshroom
  • Mule (Tammable)
  • Ocelot
  • Parrot (Tammable)
  • Pig
  • Pufferfish
  • Rabbit
  • Salmon
  • Sheep
  • Skeleton Horse (Tammable)
  • Snow Golem
  • Squid
  • Strider
  • Tadpole
  • Tropical Fish
  • Turtle
  • Villager
  • Wandering Trader

Hostile Mobs

  • Evoker
  • Vindicator
  • Pillager
  • Ravager
  • Ravager Jockey
  • Vex
  • Chicken Jockey
  • Endermite
  • Guardian
  • Elder Guardian
  • Shulker
  • Skeleton Horseman
  • Husk
  • Stray
  • Phantom
  • Blaze
  • Creeper
  • Ghast
  • Magma Cube
  • Silverfish
  • Skeleton
  • Minecraft Slime
  • Spider Jockey
  • Zombie
  • Zombie Villager
  • Drowned
  • Wither Skeleton
  • Witch
  • Zoglin
  • Piglin Brute
  • Minecraft Warden

Neutral Mobs in Minecraft

  • Dolphin
  • Polar Bear
  • Trader Llama
  • Llama
  • Panda
  • Wolf
  • Bee
  • Iron Golem
  • Goat
  • Spider (Monster)
  • Cave Spider (Monster)
  • Enderman (Monster)
  • Zombie Pigman (Monster)
  • Piglin (Monster)
  • Zombified Piglin (Monster)

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Passive Mobs In Minecraft?

Passive Mobs in Minecraft are mobs that never hurt players, and some of them can be tamed, such as cats, donkeys, etc.

What are Hostile Minecraft Mobs?

Hostile Mobs are mobs that will you on sight and will do whatever it takes to eliminate you. Make sure to be well-armed around these mobs, as they can be dangerous.

How many Categories of Mobs are in Minecraft?

There are three categories of mobs in Minecraft: Passive, Hostile, and Neutral.


This was our complete Minecraft Mobs Guide, and we hope you have all the necessary information about the mobs in the game and which category they fall into.

If you guys still have any doubts regarding the above information, then do let us know in the comments below, and our team will get to you as soon as possible.

Aditya Shah

Hi! My name's Aditya I'm an enthusiastic gamer who likes to write about gaming. I used to compete in Esports tournaments playing PUBG & CSGO. I do my best writing articles about Gaming... Or whatever's new in the gaming or geek world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *